Happiness is being one of the gang\\Clay Courson

One of the oldest relics from my childhood is a pillowcase with Charlie Brown and the Peanuts gang smiling all together for what seems to be a baseball team picture.  The bubbled caption reads, “Happiness is being one of the gang”.  I read this on my pillow everyday and night of my childhood.  And I do believe this was the basis for my definition of the word happy for the majority of my childhood.  I never cared for individual sports, maybe because I wasn’t self-motivated or maybe because I thought competing in team sports was much more honorable.  Or maybe I just thought I would be happier on a team.  Anyway, I think that pillowcase had something to do with it.

For almost nine months now I have been a father.  Little Cam has brought Lindsey and I joy beyond any and all expectations.  Lindsey and I agree on a daily basis that he is growing up too fast.   We quiz ourselves on what we will do at each stage of his life and try to prepare our reactions and answers.  We’ve been rehearsing for these experiences since before Cam was born.  I read aloud to little Cam, Exodus to Joshua, while he was still in the womb. The Old Testament is full of classic battles won and lessons to be learned in every outcome.  I always enjoy reading of the perils of the great leaders.  All the while knowing that there will be great proclamations of God’s goodness in the end.

Now that I have a son the one thing that rings in my ear is that the Lord repeatedly gives instruction to the leaders to build monuments, perform a ceremonies or write down decrees after many of the major victories or defeats.  The explanation given is that this will teach the children and the next generation that did not share in the same experiences.  Exodus 12:25-27 explains the Passover as an opportunity to remember God’s mercy as well as share this experience with our children.

25 When you enter the land that the LORD will give you as he promised, observe this ceremony. 26 And when your children ask you, ‘What does this ceremony mean to you?’ 27 then tell them, ‘It is the Passover sacrifice to the LORD, who passed over the houses of the Israelites in Egypt and spared our homes when he struck down the Egyptians.’ ” Then the people bowed down and worshiped.

It makes total sense to write what God has done for us on tablets or in a song.  That way it won’t be forgotten or misconstrued by way of hear say.  Share what God has done for you with the next generation.  I say write it on posters, billboards, monuments in government buildings, t-shirts, armbands, and of course pillowcases.  After all, “Jesus makes me happy” would make a great pillowcase.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Clay,
    I do believe that you are one of the most gracious Daddys I have met in a while. I not only liked your blog, but I loved it. I was so impressed with how you have mixed into your lifes expressions, your son, wife and the word of the Living God. It’s like a perfect mixture. It is certainly not just knowing the word, but being a doer of the word…

    Reply

  2. Posted by Michelle Voran on March 24, 2010 at 4:35 PM

    What a great blog. Loved it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

